SADC TFCA Programme

  • Forestry
  • Wildlife Conservation and Law Enforcement
  • Shared Watercourses
  • SADC Regional Water Strategy
  • Tourism Concession Guidelines on SADC TFCAs
  • Regional Water Policy
  • Fisheries
  • Development of Tourism


  • Data Collection for TFCA Network
  • Training/ Capacity Building
  • Hosting SADC TFCA Portal
  • Communication and awareness
  • Sharing best practices
  • Development of story maps and inforgraphics
  • Stakeholder engagement
  • Feature SADC countries in SoPACA report
  • Highlight SADC on RRH and RRIS

Southern African Development Community (SADC) is a regional intergovernmental organization with its headquarters in Gaborone, Botswana and comprising sixteen Partner States – Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Natural resources are vitally important to the economy of the region and to its growth. SADC and its Member States recognise the importance of improved use and stewardship of natural resources to ensure sustainable development and growth into the future. Important natural resources include forests, water, wildlife (aquatic, terrestrial and marine species) and minerals. To help protect these resources and foster regional cooperation, protocols and initiatives such as the development of TFCAs, have been spearheaded by SADC.


The SADC TFCA Network was established in the same year as the TFCA Programme to accelerate implementation of the Programme and to enhance regional learning and cooperation between governments, implementers, the international donor community, community representatives, private sector and specialists in transfrontier conservation.

Specifically, they agreed to share information among practitioners and the public alike, to learn from each other and create and expand knowledge on TFCAs, to foster innovation on the ground as well as on policy level, to mobilize resources, and to contribute to the empowerment of the ultimate stewards of the natural resources, the communities.

To date, the network comprises of more than 350 members of all relevant stakeholder groups that communicate and share information through an anchor SADC TFCA Web-Portal ( The Network is embedded in the SADC Governance structures and guided by a Steering Committee comprising of the Secretariat and the Member States’ TFCA focal points.

Powered by 2014 - All Rights Reserved.