There is no category chosen or category doesn't contain any items

Regional Resource Hub (RRH) Community of Practice

A Community of Practice (CoP) is an organized group of professional people who share the same interests in resolving an issue, improving skills, and learning from each other’s experiences. The RRH community of practice will serve as a professional body that will steer the hub to success and ensure its sustainability.

The Regional Resource Hub (RRH) is a knowledge hub for the Eastern and Southern African region that supports better decision making for fair and effective management and governance of protected and conserved areas. RRH is implemented by RCMRD, IUCN, EU-JRC and UNEP-WCMC, who work with the Protected Areas (PA) Agencies and Managers, National Government Managers, Regional Economic Communities (RECs), International Organizations, BIOPAMA focal points, Partner projects (OFESA and GMES), WDPA focal points, CBD focal points, International Secretariats (e.g., Ramsar Convention and World Heritage Convention), and NGOs to achieve its goal.


Who qualifies to be a member?


The membership of the Community of Practice shall be drawn from key actors at the National, Regional, and international levels who work with RRH as data providers, service users and/or champions. Actors that work with RRH will be given the first priority to become members of the RRH community of practice.

Why the RRH Community of Practice?

§   Improve management of knowledge, encourage learning and promote innovation in Biodiversity and Protected Areas Management and Governance in Eastern and Southern Africa region

§   Strengthen existing linkages and diversify partnerships with actors across all the pillars of Biodiversity and Protected Areas Conservation

§   Contribute to the growth of Biodiversity and Protected Areas Policy Instruments in the region

§   Improve the quality of services offered by RRH through the promotion of standards and guidelines in data collection, processing, and dissemination.

§   Improve the accuracy of the data and information provided by RRH continuously updating it.

§   Promote usage of information and knowledge products that are provided by RRH.


Structure of the RRH Community of Practice

The Regional Resource Hub serves 24 countries in Eastern and Southern Africa region. The countries are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The RRH works closely with national agencies mandated by their governments to collect and manage protected and conserved areas data, NGOs, Academia, International Organizations, and International Conventions’ Secretariats to provide protected and conserved areas information. These actors are classified as RRH data providers.


The users of RRH services are the CBD focal points, the national governments, academic institutions, protected areas managers, regional economic communities, NGOS, International Organizations and International Conventions. These actors are classified as RRH users.

Both the RRH data providers and the RRH users serve as the champions of the RRH in their respective countries and organizations.

The RRH community of practice shall include the RRH Implementing partners, RRH data providers, and the RRH users. The community of practice will be divided into two sections: Data providers section and RRH users section.



Subscribe to Our Newsletter

The Regional Resource Hub (RRH) publishes content on a regular basis. Subscribe and stay up-to-date on the latest news and trends on Biodiversity and Conservation. 


Powered by Amazing-Templates.com 2014 - All Rights Reserved.